So last night I had another rejection letter…or e-mail should I say. And it stings, like really fucking stings. But I’m trying to stay positive about these things.

I’ve been rejected three times now, twice just because I wasn’t suited and once because of word limit constraints on the anthology as a whole (apparently). So the rejection is getting a little easier, especially when I weigh it up against the two acceptances I have received this year. Rejection is just part of the parcel, I’m afraid. But that shouldn’t stop you and it won’t be stopping me.

I try to always think of the positives and so should you. You have been brave and brilliant enough to have submitted, that deserves a giant pat on the back and a nice chilled glass of prosecco in itself. You also now have a baseline to work from – okay, so this piece wasn’t what they were looking for but maybe it could be better suited elsewhere. Or with a little tweaking you could improve it even further.  This is not the end of you as a writer, and it’s certainly not the end of your piece. Keep going, keep submitting and don’t give up. If it was easy then everyone would do it.

I don’t really know where I’m going with this, but I guess I’m just letting all my lovely author friends out there know that rejection isn’t the end. Not even close. So don’t let it get you down, take that horrible stinging feeling and use it to fuel your determination. You’ve got this. I repeat: YOU’VE GOT THIS.

elizabeth.jpg